True Happiness

There is this feeling that until recently has completely eluded me, the feeling of true happiness. For the longest time I couldn’t ever imagine myself being happy, truly happy. It was something that I always wanted but could never attain, no matter how hard I tried it was always just out of reach, forever taunting me in the distance. like a mirage, it seemed so real but every time I came closer it seemed to vanish, and there I was stuck in the desert of my mind chasing this feeling that kept disappearing in the blink of an eye. It seemed like an eternity when I was trying to get that feeling, trying everything I could think of, with every new thing I tried I would get further away from it.It was a never-ending chase that left me beaten down, tired and confused as to why I cant feel happy. Looking back I can see that I was looking in all the wrong places, I was trying to find happiness through, drugs, alcohol, women, and all of these outside solutions to my internal condition. It was only when I looked inside, and saw what needed to change that I was finally able to take the necessary action in order to be capable of finding what I was looking for.

Through these actions I have found something, spectacular, amazingly beautiful,something so real and unexpected. that hit me like a freight train, out of no where, it was this feeling that washed over me of peacefulness that I didn’t have to worry about anything because I knew that everything would work out for the better. This feeling of serenity kept me in the moment and let me be amazed at everything that was going on around me, the way the slight breeze moved the tops of the trees in the park across the street, and the sound of its leaves brushing up against each other with every gust. This beautiful feeling is something that I never thought I would be able to get, and now that I have found it I never want to let it go.

~Geoffrey Davis, is an author and speaker who blogs at My Unexpected Life.

One thought on “True Happiness

Leave a Reply

